The Last Invisible Boy by Evan Kuhlman

last-invisible-boyI’ve been thinking a lot about this blog and what I want it to be. Is it a little about me or just about what I read?  Realistic Fiction is all about learning about life vicariously through try-on roles.  So maybe, bringing in a little bit of me, when relevant, will be an okay angle. 

Every kid, once in a while, wishes he were invisible.  Last week at work was probably the worst week I’ve had in twelve years.  Misunderstanding and mistakes built up until I cried four out of five days.  I certainly wanted to be invisible and in an effort to avoid further emotional meltdowns, I’ve decided to keep the pie hole closed.  (We’ll see how long that lasts….)

Finn doesn’t know why, but he is slowly turning invisible.  His hair is shockingly white, and his skin is fading.  He doesn’t have a medical condition, but something is happening.  Kids at school as well as complete strangers notice his ghostly complexion.

In short, illustrated chapters, Finn writes his memoir. He wants to get his story in writing before he goes completely invisible.  He talks about his friends, family and his father’s very sudden death.   In telling his story, Finn makes lists, draws his life and unfolds a very funny yet poignant story.

This was a very well written book. The character of Finn was developed well.  I thought the emotions that Finn showed were real.  The format of this novel: pictures in almost every chapter, lists, journals a la Star Trek really contributed to making this subject light-hearted and worthy of a guys read.  I highly recommend it to readers who liked Diary of a Wimpy Kid with the caveat of the subject matter.  Also, with some cussing, it isn’t for young readers… I’d say 5th – 8th graders. I read this outloud to my husband who requested I did not finish it without him.    240 p., 2008.  SH 3/09

About SH

I'm a children's librarian in the western suburbs of Chicago. I've been involved with children's literature since working in a children's bookstore in 1990.
This entry was posted in bend in the road, Family relationships, realistic fiction and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.