My 48-Hour Reading Challenge

48hbcSo, Mother Reader has challenged children’s lit bloggers to a reading challenge… how many books can you read in 48 hours? My colleague did this challenge last year and encouraged me to try it this year. So I am. My real challenge, as I see it, isn’t to read, but to write about what I’ve read. I told my husband that my goal in this challenge is to write what I’ve written. If I can do it, blog what I’m reading, then I will pursue my own domain name (oooo!). If unsuccessful, then I won’t spend the money.

So, what will happen? I am going to read between 7 p.m. Friday, June 5th through Sunday, June 7th. I will keep track of how long I’ve read and what I’ve read on this website. I may have other distractions, but I have so many good reading choices with icky weather that I think I’ll probably read.

What will I read? In no particular order:

The beef princess of practical county / michelle houts
The evolution of calpurnia tate / jacqueline Kelly
Same Difference / Siobhan Vivian
The Locked Garden / Gloria Whelan
Jane in Bloom / Deborah Lytton
The Island of Mad Scientists / Howard Whitehouse
The Problem with the Puddles / Kate Feiffer *
A Curse Dark as Gold / Elizabeth Bunce
Sun and Moon, Ice and Snow / Jessica Day George
Emmaline and the bunny / Katherine Hannigan *
Jeremny Fink and the Meaning of Life / Wendy Mass
The Teashop Girls / Laura Schaefer
The Smile / Donna Jo Napoli

* These books may not count (the challenge says 5th grade reading level or higher) but it’s nice to have fluff around the house!

So, stop by between Friday and Sunday and see how I do!

Sharon

About SH

I'm a children's librarian in the western suburbs of Chicago. I've been involved with children's literature since working in a children's bookstore in 1990.
This entry was posted in 48 hour reading challenge 2009, kidlit. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to My 48-Hour Reading Challenge

  1. Stephanie says:

    I’m looking forward to hearing about The Teashop Girls.

Comments are closed.