Final Stats

48hbcHours in challenge so far: 25.25
Books Read:5
Pages Read:~1536
Blog posts: 14
Reviews: five, two pending  I just finished The Beef Princess of Practical County by Mihelle Houts but I’m beat and I’m takig my husband to dinner, he’s been very supportive!  The review will come.
Books unfinished: .3. Smile by Donna Jo Napoli. I got through half of it, but really wanted to finish with The Beef Princess of Practical County. Same Difference: it was too late and the text was too dense. Curse Dark as Gold: I kept staring at the page, it was time to move on.  But all three of those books are on my reading pile

This has been a very good experience. I wanted to do this challenge to see if I had the ability to sustain a blog. It takes dedication and resolve.  I think I’ve read more this month (one week into it) than I did the first year we were married.  So, thanks Mother Reader, for the challenge.  Thanks Mother Nature for the crappy weather we had this weekend. and thanks Dave.  Happy Reading and please travel down this road again, I’m happy to have you. Best of all, I think I’m over my four year reading slump! Hooray for that.

About SH

I'm a children's librarian in the western suburbs of Chicago. I've been involved with children's literature since working in a children's bookstore in 1990.
This entry was posted in 48 hour reading challenge 2009, kidlit. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Final Stats

  1. Steph says:

    Congrats on finishing the challenge! I really like your blog title and picture.

  2. MotherReader says:

    Great reading! Puts you in the oh-so-exclusive 20+ club!

    Having a blog is like having a puppy. It’s fun, but you have to take care of it.

    Thanks for playing!

  3. Liyana says:

    Great job, I hope to see you participating again next year! I read Beef Princess of Practical County too! 😀

  4. Stephanie says:

    I’m finishing more books now that I’ve started listening to audio books. For some reason, people are less inclined to interrupt someone who has earphones on than someone who has a book in their lap. I’d like to see some research on this phenomenon.
    I’m enjoying your blog. Hope you continue to enjoy blogging! BTW, have you ever read Julie and Julia? Julie decides to work through Julia Childs’ Mastering the Art of French Cooking in the space of a year, and she created a blog to document her progress with the project. I thought it was quite funny.

Comments are closed.