Sun and Moon, Ice and Snow by Jessica Day George

sun moon ice snowThe first tale I ever memorized was East o’ the Sun, West o’ the Moon from the Asbjornsens.  I learned it to tell a class in library school. It’s been a long time since I actually told the tale, but it’s always been my favorite.  When East by Edith Pattou came out, I was wild about it and put it into every hand I could.  I was looking forward to reading this book, which is why I saved it for the Sunday portion of the 48 Hour Book challenge.  I knew the story would keep me focused.  It did!  I love the addition of Rollo.  He’s funny and wise and a good companion for pika.  I liked the characters…even Frida. She was portrayed to be the horrible folktale mother she is.  The trolls were horrible and funny and dumb.  I loved the setting.  This was a good addition to my reading stack.  But I have 5 1/2 hours to go.

Sun and Moon, Ice and Snow by Jessica Day is 328 page with a glossary of Norwegian words.  Grades 6 – 9.

About SH

I'm a children's librarian in the western suburbs of Chicago. I've been involved with children's literature since working in a children's bookstore in 1990.
This entry was posted in 48 hour reading challenge 2009. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Sun and Moon, Ice and Snow by Jessica Day George

  1. Amanda says:

    You are out-reading me by miles.
    You GO!
    Ezri has been running some interference by being needy or adorable, both distract me from the bookpile.
    WAY TO READ.

  2. I really like Jessica Day George’s books so far and absolutely adored East by Edith Pattou.

Comments are closed.