An Ode to Amanda

She's on the left.

Capt Amanda's on the left... with her trusty Parrot Meghan

♥ A soft answer turns away wrath.
♥ Silly and fun are good.
♥ Sock monkeys really are cute.
♥ Baby story time isn’t scary.
♥ Either are junior highers.
♥ Book blogging is fun.
♥ Nice is good.
♥ Change is okay.

I’ve worked with my friend Amanda for seven years. She stopped working at our library today to be a full-time mommy. I think there is nothing more important than a mommy being at home. I just want her with me 37.5 hours a week.

But she isn’t and that is okay too. So, I thank her for making me a better librarian and person. Amanda ROX.

About SH

I'm a children's librarian in the western suburbs of Chicago. I've been involved with children's literature since working in a children's bookstore in 1990.
This entry was posted in Downers Grove Public Library and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to An Ode to Amanda

  1. Stephanie says:

    Best Wishes to Amanda!
    Belated Birthday wishes for you!

  2. Amanda says:

    Thanks, Sharon. Aww shucks you say the nicest things. I miss our office together too, partner. I am really happy we’ll be Cybils judging together. I think we should get together (possibly at your place or mine and with some non-milk treats to talk for the big judging)

Comments are closed.